Welcome to the West Suburban-Milwaukee Branch of the American Association of University Women

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) empowers women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Our nonpartisan, nonprofit organization has more than 170,000 members and supporters across the United States, as well as 1,000 local branches and 800 college and university partners. Since AAUW’s founding in 1881, our members have examined and taken positions on the fundamental issues of the day — educational, social, economic, and political.

AAUW West Suburban is located in the western suburbs of  Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  Our organization comprises a membership of more than 140 active and involved women.  We participate in activities that further AAUW goals:  equity for all women and girls, lifelong education and positive societal change.  Our branch members find abundant opportunities for mental stimulation, personal growth, fun and friendship through branch meetings and a variety of study and interest groups.

AAUW’s Mission
AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research.

AAUW’s Value Promise
By joining AAUW, you belong to a community that breaks through educational and economic barriers so that all women and girls have a fair chance.

All meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month at the Sunset Playhouse Studio Theatre, 800 Elm Grove Road, Elm Grove, Wisconsin. beginning at 7 p.m. with a half-hour social. Program to follow at 7:30 unless otherwise stated. Prospective members and guests are welcome to attend.

Membership is open to those who hold a recognized two-year Associate, Bachelor’s, or higher degree from an accredited college or university. Undergraduate students who do not old a Bachelor’s or Associate degree may join as affiliates.

2014-15 Branch Officers

Officers-March-5-2014Left to right:  Karla Sloan, VP-Membership; Anne Kreul, Co-President;
Eileen Dagen, Treasurer; Linda Polulach, Co-President; Nancy Fennell, Secretary

Title Name Email
Co-President Anne Kreul annemkreul@yahoo.com
Co-President Linda Polulach jpolulach@wi.rr.com
Secretary Kerstin Lanser lanser@milwpc.com
Eileen Dagen dageneileen@yahoo.com
VP Membership Co-Chair
Karla Sloan kshsloan@me.com
VP Membership Co-Chair
Carole McFarlin cmcf812@gmail.com

Appointed Committee Chairs

Title Name
Bylaws/Parliamentarian Terry McLaughlin
College Liaison Mitzi Dearborn
Community Support
Pearls for Girls Marge Willms
GEMS JoAnne Peterson
Database/Yearbook Vicci Filandrinos
Entertainment Books Shirley Zauner
Fundraising National AAUW – All Members
LAF – Deb Wolff
Local Scholarships – All Members
Hospitality/Chili Supper Co-Chairs Virg Nickels
Sharon Bryant
Newsletter Editor – Sue Barron
Layout Editor – Sue Wille
Distribution – Sue Wille, Marjorie Pagel
Nominations Terri Mitchell
Photographer Mary Mindham
Betty Hilton
Program Mary Goens
Elisabeth Eaton
Public Policy Elizabeth Coppola
Publicity Marjorie Pagel
Rep. to Women’s Court & Civic Barbara Noonan
“Shares”/Local Scholarships Alice White
Strategic Plan Phyllis Casey
Style Show Co-Chairs Carol Dadaian
Evelyn Owen
Sunshine Alice Bradee
Tea Co-Chairs Carol Dadaian
Barbara Noonan
Webpage Editor Marjorie Pagel